Countries/Territories entitled for visa exemption for a visit of not exceeding 30 days

         After the Covid-19 situation began its partial retreat, foreign tourists started making travel plans for new trips to Thailand. Currently, foreigners entering Thailand for tourism purposes are not required to obtain a visa (according to the notification of the Ministry of Interior dated 4 March 2019). This applies to 56 countries/ economic zones, as follows:

1. Principality of Andorra 2. Commonwealth of Australia 3. Austria
4. Kingdom of Belgium 5. Bahrain 6. Federative Republic of Brazil
7. Brunei Darussalam Negara 8. Canada 9. Czech Republic
10. Kingdom of Denmark 11. Republic of Estonia 12. Republic of Finland
13. French Republic 14. Federal Republic of Germany 15. Hellenic Republic
16. Republic of Hungary 17. Republic of Iceland 18. Republic of Indonesia
19. Ireland 20. State of Israel 21. Republic of Italy
22. Japan 23. Kuwait 24. Republic of Latvia
25. Republic of Liechtenstein 26. Republic of Lithuania 27. Malaysia
28. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 29. Republic of Maldives 30. Republic of Mauritius
31. Principality of Monaco 32. Kingdom of the Netherlands 33. New Zealand
34. Kingdom of Norway 35. Sultanate of Oman 36. Republic of the Philippines
37. Republic of Poland 38. Republic of Portugal 39. State of Qatar
40. Republic of San Marino 41. Republic of Singapore 42. Republic of Slovak
43. Republic of Slovenia 44. Kingdom of Spain 45. Republic of South Africa
46. Republic of Korea 47. Kingdom of Sweden 48. Swiss Confederation
49. Republic of Turkey 50. Ukraine 51. United Arab Emirates
52. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 53. United States of America
54. Republic of Peru 55. Socialist Republic of Vietnam 56. Hong Kong


The conditions include the following: 

  1. Travelers must stay in Thailand not more than 30 days, limited to twice per calendar year;
  2. Travelers must provide proof of adequate finance of at least 10,000 baht per person, or 20,000 baht per family. 


         Travelers wishing to stay in Thailand longer than 30 days should apply for a tourist visa at a Royal Thai Embassy or Consulate prior to their visit; they will be permitted to stay not more than 60 days and will be able to apply for visa extension at the Immigration Bureau in Thailand. 

  1. Nationals of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Singapore, and Malaysia, who may enter Thailand through land border checkpoints, are permitted more than twice in a calendar year and will be able to stay not more than30 days per time.
  2. Thailand holds bilateral agreements on visa exemptions for holders of diplomatic, official, and ordinary passports for a visit of not exceeding 90 days with Brazil, the Republic of Korea, and Peru (instead of 30 days according to the above notification of the Ministry of Interior).
  3. Foreigners who are not nationals of the mentioned countries or stateless persons holding travel documents for aliens issued by the 56 countries/ economic zones will not be eligible for visa exemption. They are required to apply for a visa at a Royal Thai Embassy or Consulate abroad before traveling to Thailand.

Source: Department of Consular Affairs
Tel: +66  2575 1034


Copyright 2022, The Government Public Relations Department
Web Traffic Statistics : 28,406,083